RSS

Like The Flowing River (Dedicated to Godavari)

04 Feb

With blue morning skies and the horizon, the day began,
Walking on the dusty road and through the muddy path , the trip began

On the water stood the Punnaami afloat,
Yo man, this is my first time on the boat,

The boat turned and with an attitude set sail,
The captain rolled and steered the rudder at its tail

This is it and it’s only water I am amid
I want to jump, hop and clap like a kid
That’s when I collect and control my emotions putting a lid
The river is welcoming and nature is placid

I have a liitle fear, but it is cheer which is about to bloom
I slip out my camera and do my zoom
All my fears vanish and I have no gloom
My insecurities have been cleaned with a broom

Calmly I enjoy the ride,
Keep staring at the dancing tide
Seems the water has nothing to hide
My dear river, you have my bonafide

I glance far and near
The waters are crystal clear
Feel inside something is changing gear
Oh lovely river, your are getting dear

The mountains echo, the banks sing and the waves dance
I am amazed, awestruck as if in a trance

I get the feel, get the vibe,
There is lot to learn from you, lot to imbibe

I keep on the travel, you don’t seem to end
In what seems like a timeless travel, you are the only friend

I don’t talk, I don’t say, I don’t speak
You only hear not even think I am a freak
Not once you show you are mighty and I, meek
My words are lost, and I feel a geek

I ask: People don’t have a heart, pollute you, abuse you, don’t you bother
I hear you say, they are all your kids and you their mother

Kids are fools, but for their mother, they are always smart
No matter what, you embrace us all, with a loving heart

I realize, you enjoy and with us you make merry,
On your waters, you make countless people ferry,
On your sandy banks people have chicken and curry,
You allay our fears and leave us with no worry,
We are inconsiderate, thankless, you don’t seek  our sorry
You are the one and only one, mighty yet calm, Ganga of the South: Godavari.

You give us fields, water, life and food
However we humans behave, you are always in a nice mood
Never in you has anger raised its ugly hood
Whatever bad we do, you do us only good

Coming to an end, I sit and introspect
All emotions rush, the one that stands out is only respect
I did learn: life throws everything that you don’t expect
Some you absorb, some you distribute, some you deflect

Enough songs, enough poems, enough has been said
What I write, I put down is very small instead

My last words are thus:
At the start your mightiness made me quiver, your cold waters made me shiver,
You welcomed me, comforted me, you are the deep, long and ever flowing Godavari river.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2014 in Ballads

 

4 responses to “Like The Flowing River (Dedicated to Godavari)

  1. Tanmay

    February 5, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    Hey Buddy …. as usual you are good …… but this time I felt the poem less emotional than earlier ones…. I am telling you what I felt while and after reading the poem …… few snippets, I felt, are rather contrived. …… but the flow of the poem was good (sorry for my straight-forward comments…..)

     
    • harispotter

      February 6, 2014 at 6:42 am

      Dost, all comments are fine: honest reviews.. nice if there are critics also 😉 ..

       
  2. A T Rajesh

    February 6, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Really Haribaba, I have become your fan now. Can’t wait to get my hands on your poems. They are just too good. I think Metallica must put your poems to tune and go all guns blazing.

     
  3. Mahesh

    February 13, 2014 at 7:28 am

    Arey Yaar… trip report ka Shaayari… Lovely Hari..

     

Leave a comment